Key Stage 2 

In Key Stage 2, there are compulsory eras to study and also categories which give teachers choice. It's important to remember that teachers have the freedom to choose what they teach and the order in which they teach it - teaching chronologically does not ensure children gain chronological understanding. 

Compulsory eras to study: 

  • Changes from the Stone Age to Iron Age.

  • The Roman Empire and it's impact on Britain.

  • Britain's Settlement by Anglo-Saxons and Scots.

  • Struggle for power between the Saxons and Vikings.

  • Ancient Greece, its achievements and their influence on the western world. 

  • A local history study.

You must select one from the following:

  • An overview of all 4 civilizations and one of the following in depth: Achievements of the earliest civilizations: Ancient Sumer, The Indus Valley, Ancient Egypt or the Shang Dynasty of Ancient China.

  • A non-European study: Early Islamic civilization, The Maya, Benin

  • A post-1066 study of a theme or aspect of British history that extends children's chronological understanding: changing aspect of society, legacy of Roman of Greek civilization  or a turning point in British history such as the industrial revolution, migration or the First World war